Organising Committee

Jens Degett, Chair, Danish Science Journalists’ Association

Berit Viuf, Vice Chair, Danish Science Journalists’ Association

Mike Young, Social Media Expert, Mike Young Academy

Contact:  info [at]

Jens Degett

Jens Degett

Jens Degett is a freelance science journalist and President of European Union of Science Journalists’ Associations (EUSJA) He is also Chair of the Danish Science Journalists’ Association. He has worked with science journalism and communication for more than 20 years. 

Jens Degett was the Executive Director of the European Action in Global Life Sciences 2005-2010, Director of Communication and Information at the European Science Foundation (ESF), from 2000 - 2005. Host of Danish science radio programmes at National Broadcast from 1994-2000.

He is one of the founding fathers of the EuroScience Open Forum. He served as Executive Secretary of WFSJ from 2002-2004.

Telephone: +45 27846500, email: jens [at]

Berit Viuf

Berit Viuf

Berit Viuf is an independent journalist on subjects related to research and science for broad audiences. She has ten years of journalistic experience on various platforms.

Berit Viuf holds a cand.techn.soc degree in Technology, Environment and Society from Roskilde University and have previously worked as a project leader of technology communication

email: berit [at]

Mike Young

Mike Young is a digital media expert and founder of Mike Young Academy, a consultancy that offers workshops, consulting and social media outreach to businesses, universities and knowledge networks.

A historian of ideas, his professional career has spanned journalism, media studies, and as Editor of the University Post.

E-mail: mike [at]

Gorm Palmgren

Gorm Palmgren holds a PhD in cell biology and has been working as full time freelance science journalist since 2001. He writes extensively for an international popular science magazine (Science Illustrated) and other media and is experienced in website management, newsletter production and layout.

email: gorm [at]